Men’s Major Golf Tournaments

The men’s major golf tournaments are also known as Major Championships, and they are divided in four prestigious tours that take place each year. Therefore, professional golf players who want to reach the biggest heights of their careers, participate to these competitions to make their wishes come true.

Besides Ryder and Presidents Cup team championships, the majors are the main events of this sport. Their origins consist in The Open Championship and The Amateur Championship, which were British tours, and the US Open and the US Amateur. However, the evolution of golf registered big changes in the 1950s and led to the development of the four annual major golf tournaments:

• The Master Tournament is played in April at Augusta National Golf Club in the U.S. state of Georgia. This club was founded by Clifford Roberts and Bobby Jones, and it is one of the most famous golf arrangements in the world. It was ranked the number one course in America’s 100 best courses. However this club managed to wake some controversies due to the fact that it didn’t allow black men to become members until 1990. Furthermore, it admitted its first two women members only in 2012.

• The U.S. Open takes place in June and it is hosted by the United States Golf Association, which includes golf courses, clubs and other facilities. Together with The R&A, this association creates and interprets the Rules of Golf and it conducts 13 national golf tournaments. The most important thing is that the USGA Foundation has offered $60 million in grants for people with disabilities, and it also provides a handicap system for golf players.

• The Open Championship is one of the major golf tournaments that is hosted in July by The R&A, which is a branch of The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews. It is always played on a links course, which is one of the oldest styles of golf, at one of the various placements in the United Kingdom. There are nine locations where golfers can show their talent and skills, so their options are opened.

• The PGA Championship takes place in August, after the Open Championship. The Professional Golfers’ Association of America is the organization of professionals that hosts it. This association was founded in 1916, and it includes more than 27,000 professional golf players, men and women. Its goal was to establish certain standards for this profession, and to attract as many members as possible.

Related posts

Complete Guide to Finding Golf Employment Solutions

Henry Young

The Best Golf Betting Advice

Henry Young

Cleveland Golf Wedges

Henry Young